Dancing fool competes…..

Yes, I’ve made the decision to enter my first ballroom dance competition.  Yikes!

What’s up with that? I freaked out doing a performance at my own dance studio, so how will I handle dancing in front of lots more people? That’s a good question you’ve just asked, I must admit.

Here’s how I figure it. In my former life, I taught hundreds of teachers at any one time, so this should be easy. Right?

We’ll find out! My instructor and I will be preparing and then we’ll head on down to the Hilton here in Jacksonville on June 20th. I’m going to take all of you along on this ride, beginning with today’s dance lesson.

We talked about what dances I want to compete in at what levels (waltz and rumba), and then we danced. He talked: We can’t do that in a competition at that level, we have to be back here in 8 beats, make sure your heel is down before moving the other foot…..

And you know what? I’m in heaven…..

Stay tuned!

1616578_815964561751324_458008569_n

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Dancing fool competes…..

  1. You will be awesome!!! I felt the same way at my first competition at age 58…almost 7 years later i am till dancing and competing!!! It is the best!

    Like

    • Yes, it’s a big step for me, Bob! I don’t have a competitive bone in my body, so I’m doing this simply for the experience. I enjoy the process of learning dance, and just love being around this activity! Thanks for your encouragement!

      Like

You're thinking it, so go ahead and send a comment!

